checking out dekalb market

I was out of town this weekend and missed the Grand Opening of Dekalb Market, so I decided to check it out for a late lunch this afternoon.  When I first got there, I was a bit surprised how empty the place was and how many containers were still under construction.  I spoke to a few vendors and apparently it was busy over the weekend, but when I was there around 2PM, there were only a handful of folks and about 7 or 8 vendors open.

For lunch, I got a fried chicken sandwich ($6.50) from Cheeky Sandwiches, the only lunch vendor open from what I could see.  I was unsure of what to expect.  It took awhile for someone to notice I was there, and their storefront was definitely still a work in progress.   A handful of workers doing last minute electrical work crowded the inside of the container as I waited for my sandwich to be cooked.  I have to say though, once I got it, I was impressed.  The sandwich – fried chicken, coleslaw, gravy, and biscuit – was awesome.

I also tried some ice tea from Tea by Tiffany.  I decided to try something new (normally I am a sucker for any type of hibiscus tea and Tiffany had a couple) and ordered the Chicory Coffee.  It’s a decaf tea made of chicory, ginger, and lemongrass.  It looks like iced coffee and kind of takes of like it – a really unique flavor and so good!  Highly recommend it.

via tea by tiffany tumblr

Leave a comment

Filed under Food and Drink, Local

Leave a Reply

